PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Main Hub > Discussion Boards > Other Systems/Handhelds > Sony Systems
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2008, 10:56 AM   #61
twelve
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 616

nvqtwelve's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanction1 View Post
I found out from CAG - http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/...d.php?t=171837

That shows next weeks deals. PS2 is gonna be $99 at Target next week, and I think it's permanent too.
I'm hoping that comes over to the UK too. I've got a working PS2 but it's so noisy.

I've also got the 60GB PS3 with Backwards Compatibility but MGS3 crashes on it a lot, and I really want to get through it before MGS4 comes out.
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 11:15 PM   #62
wild dog
 
wild dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 689

the wild dog's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Silver   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
I just bought a Ps3 last week but now ive read there is a new model comming out with the dual shock sometime in spring !!! Im pretty pissed lol

does anyone know any info on this ? like does it have a bigger HD or is it just a basic 40gig with a dual shock ?

am I fussing over nothing lol ?
__________________
wild dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 11:23 PM   #63
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
I'd imagine you're fussing over nothing mate. If a new "model" is released, the only difference will be a Dual Shock and a bigger hardrive, the actual system specs will stay the same.
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 12:26 AM   #64
DFILL450
 
DFILL450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,421
Send a message via AIM to DFILL450

Awards Showcase Word of Mouth   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild dog View Post
I just bought a Ps3 last week but now ive read there is a new model comming out with the dual shock sometime in spring !!! Im pretty pissed lol

does anyone know any info on this ? like does it have a bigger HD or is it just a basic 40gig with a dual shock ?

am I fussing over nothing lol ?
Well if you really want to, just return it, and be patient for the new units. I'm not sure if this applies to Europe, but the new unit in U.S. will include a Dualshock 3, an 80gb PS3, and MGS4.
__________________
DFILL450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 01:11 AM   #65
wild dog
 
wild dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 689

the wild dog's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Silver   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Im sorta now thinking do I really need the extra 40gig, so far I havent used alot of space on my PS3. Would you guys return your 40gig-60gig for the newer model ?
__________________
wild dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 02:42 AM   #66
Sanction
 
Sanction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 3,985

Sanction1's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts   Submit - Gold   Donator - Level 1   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 4 (more» ...)
Hell no. The only thing that I didn't like was they didn't chrome the 40GB, which isn't a big deal, but it's kind of a let down. Other than that I'm lovin' my PS3.
__________________

Sanction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 02:52 AM   #67
wild dog
 
wild dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 689

the wild dog's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Silver   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFILL450 View Post
I'm not sure if this applies to Europe, but the new unit in U.S. will include a Dualshock 3, an 80gb PS3, and MGS4.
I did a bit of research on this and its only U.S. that gets that bundle Europe get a movie bundle which will include 40gb PS3 ,Dualshock 3 (not anymore), Spiderman 3, 300 and Casino Royale. Europe is also getting a bundle with Gran Turismo, 40 gig and Dualshock 3 (not anymore) - both priced at £300.

So thats sort of answerd my previous question lol
__________________

Last edited by wild dog; 03-05-2008 at 09:33 PM.
wild dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 06:11 PM   #68
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild dog View Post
Gran Turismo, 40 gig and Dualshock 3 - both priced at £300.
Pretty good deal! Especially seeing 40GB's still sell on their own at £300 most places around here.
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:32 PM   #69
wild dog
 
wild dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 689

the wild dog's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Silver   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Ok my post above is now wrong Europe is not getting the Dual shock 3 in any of these bundles .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bax x360a View Post
Pretty good deal! Especially seeing 40GB's still sell on their own at £300 most places around here.
I think that bundle is a rip off seeming how you can currently get a PS3 and a £40 game for £300. GT is only going to retail at £20 so you would be loosing money.
__________________
wild dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 03:39 AM   #70
twelve
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 616

nvqtwelve's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild dog View Post
Ok my post above is now wrong Europe is not getting the Dual shock 3 in any of these bundles .



I think that bundle is a rip off seeming how you can currently get a PS3 and a £40 game for £300. GT is only going to retail at £20 so you would be loosing money.
I bet it gets closer to £30 for prologue. Giving the current RRP for PS3 games is £50.

The last Prologue game (between GT3 and GT4) was £20 but the RRP for games was closer to £40 then.
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 04:19 AM   #71
wild dog
 
wild dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 689

the wild dog's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Silver   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
^^^ Ive already pre-ordered mine from play for £17.99 just incase the price does jump up
__________________
wild dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 10:27 AM   #72
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild dog View Post
Ok my post above is now wrong Europe is not getting the Dual shock 3 in any of these bundles .



I think that bundle is a rip off seeming how you can currently get a PS3 and a £40 game for £300. GT is only going to retail at £20 so you would be loosing money.
You're not taking the Dual Shock in to consideration, which will cost something ridiculous like £60 when it eventually comes out.

I was thinking about waiting for GT5 to come out, but if Prologues only £17.99, can't go wrong really, even if it is only entertaining for a few days/weeks. I just wanna see those sexy graphics!!
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 04:08 PM   #73
twelve
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 616

nvqtwelve's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild dog View Post
^^^ Ive already pre-ordered mine from play for £17.99 just incase the price does jump up
RRP is £25 so I was right when I said it wouldn't be £20.

Also a preorder price doesn't necessarily mean anything, they can change it at any point. Thanks for pointing it out tho, I've preordered too

Last edited by twelve; 03-09-2008 at 04:16 PM.
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 01:56 PM   #74
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Wondering if anybody can answer this question for me. If I made a U.S account (currently in the U.K) and downloaded some of their exclusive PSN games such as Echodrome, if I then delete that U.S account, will I be able to play the game on my U.K account or not? Cheers.
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 09:47 AM   #75
twelve
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 616

nvqtwelve's Gamercard
Nope. You need the original account on your PS3 to play them.

Same with game sharing. You have to keep your friends account (they can change their password so you can no longer use it though) on your console to be able to play the content.
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 11:58 AM   #76
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by twelve View Post
Nope. You need the original account on your PS3 to play them.

Same with game sharing. You have to keep your friends account (they can change their password so you can no longer use it though) on your console to be able to play the content.
Ah that sucks, damn you Sony!
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:00 PM   #77
twelve
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 616

nvqtwelve's Gamercard
Why? I've got 8 accounts on my PS3 from gamesharing. It doesn't bother me in the slightest because they're sorted in the order they're created so my main one is at the top followed by US and Japanese and then the 5 people I've got freebies from.
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 07:37 PM   #78
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by twelve View Post
Why? I've got 8 accounts on my PS3 from gamesharing. It doesn't bother me in the slightest because they're sorted in the order they're created so my main one is at the top followed by US and Japanese and then the 5 people I've got freebies from.
So your saying, for example, if I downloaded your account then I could download and play the games you've purchased, without having to pay for them myself? If so thats fookin genius, and whats your account
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 04:54 AM   #79
twelve
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 616

nvqtwelve's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bax x360a View Post
So your saying, for example, if I downloaded your account then I could download and play the games you've purchased, without having to pay for them myself? If so thats fookin genius, and whats your account
That's exactly how it works. Sony allow your payed for content to be downloaded on 5 different consoles. Everything except Warhawk can be shared (the addons can be shared just not the full game).

Unfortunately for you though, me and 4 (of the 5 extra accounts) friends buy things that we want in a round robin kinda way and then share our purchases with each other. Which pissed them off when I bought GT5: Prologue on disc and not on PSN.
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 02:42 PM   #80
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by twelve View Post
That's exactly how it works. Sony allow your payed for content to be downloaded on 5 different consoles. Everything except Warhawk can be shared (the addons can be shared just not the full game).

Unfortunately for you though, me and 4 (of the 5 extra accounts) friends buy things that we want in a round robin kinda way and then share our purchases with each other. Which pissed them off when I bought GT5: Prologue on disc and not on PSN.
Damn it. So could my friend by something, I log in on my PS3 with his account, download the game for free, delete his account and use my account to play it? I would I still have to keep his account in order to play the game?
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:33 PM   #81
Mothershed_52
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: A Small Town in Arkansas
Posts: 1,122

Mothershed 52's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
There is another PS3 update (2.35) coming out..later today, tomorrow....didn't do a thread because it is once again only a minor update..

"This is a relatively minor update to improve stability of some PS3 titles." Don't know if it will do anything else...
Mothershed_52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:45 PM   #82
X monkfish69 X
 
X monkfish69 X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,291

Bumstink69's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
What title could that be for I wonder ?! I bet it's either something to do with ficing the problems they were having with GTAIV or it's something to do with GT Prologue.....
__________________
X monkfish69 X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:59 PM   #83
Mothershed_52
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: A Small Town in Arkansas
Posts: 1,122

Mothershed 52's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Yea I figured it has something to do with GTA....I own it for the PS3 and I haven't had a single problem with it..there is a update that came out for the game...but I haven't downloaded it yet....I guess we shall wait and see.
Mothershed_52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 09:34 PM   #84
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
That sucks that I have to download a new update for a game I don't even own on the PS3
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 12:28 AM   #85
twelve
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 616

nvqtwelve's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bax x360a View Post
Damn it. So could my friend by something, I log in on my PS3 with his account, download the game for free, delete his account and use my account to play it? I would I still have to keep his account in order to play the game?
You'd have to keep the account on your PS3 but you can delete the PSN details from it, as once you've got something you never need to sign onto PSN for that account again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mothershed_52 View Post
Yea I figured it has something to do with GTA....I own it for the PS3 and I haven't had a single problem with it..there is a update that came out for the game...but I haven't downloaded it yet....I guess we shall wait and see.
Sony have said the firmware update isn't to do with GTA4, they haven't said what games it is to do with though.

And the update for GTA4 itself is for multiplayer issues.
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 03:17 AM   #86
Mothershed_52
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: A Small Town in Arkansas
Posts: 1,122

Mothershed 52's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by twelve View Post
Sony have said the firmware update isn't to do with GTA4, they haven't said what games it is to do with though.

And the update for GTA4 itself is for multiplayer issues.
Yea that's what they say..but people can speculate...I don't care really because I haven't had problems with any games...

EDIT: From their website.

Game

  • New for 2.35: System stability during use of some PLAYSTATION®3 format software has been improved.
Video

  • Blu-ray Disc playback now supports DTS-HD Master Audio™ and DTS-HD High Resolution Audio™ output.*
    * The PS3™ system does not support playback of DTS-ES and DTS 96/24 for DVD-Video or DTS-ES Matrix for Blu-ray Discs.

Mothershed_52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 06:18 AM   #87
X monkfish69 X
 
X monkfish69 X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,291

Bumstink69's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
What they need to do is to add playback for MPEG1 and MPEG3 video codecs. Some of the stuff that I have is only in those formats and I can't be bothered to run a program for about 5 hours just to try and convert it all, then find out it still doesn't work or something....
__________________
X monkfish69 X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 12:18 PM   #88
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by X monkfish69 X View Post
What they need to do is to add playback for MPEG1 and MPEG3 video codecs. Some of the stuff that I have is only in those formats and I can't be bothered to run a program for about 5 hours just to try and convert it all, then find out it still doesn't work or something....
You tried ConvertXtoDvd? Great program, should do the job.
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 04:48 PM   #89
X monkfish69 X
 
X monkfish69 X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,291

Bumstink69's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
I'll give it a look Bax, thanks. I just hope that it doesnt take like 24 hours to decode a film !
__________________
X monkfish69 X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 05:04 PM   #90
Bax x360a
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,821

Bax x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by X monkfish69 X View Post
I'll give it a look Bax, thanks. I just hope that it doesnt take like 24 hours to decode a film !
Takes around an hour to put an xvid onto a DVD, around 30 mins on my dad's PC which is alot better.
Bax x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02 PM.