- Estimated achievement difficulty: 3/10 [Achievement Difficulty Rating]
- Offline: 14 [1000]
- Online: 0
- Approximate amount of time to 1000: <1 hour [Estimated Time to 100%]
- Minimum number of playthroughs needed: 1 [Partial]
- Missable achievements: No
- Does difficulty affect achievements: No
- Unobtainable/glitched achievements: No

"Make the Many Face King pay for waking you from your beauty sleep! Many Faces is a multi-directional shooter inspired by arcade classics, combining single-screen action with randomized stages that will constantly keep you on your toes. Customize your character's weapon and abilities as you go, further guaranteeing that no two runs will ever be the same." - microsoft.com

Many Faces is a simplistic twin-stick shooter that doesn't require a lot of skill, but can be frustrating to some. The achievements are straightforward enough and are all cumulative so if you need to restart the game, luckily your progress is intact.

Full credit for the 100% video walkthrough goes to Achievement Land.

Abbreviated Walkthrough:
First, it is suggested you turn on the crosshairs so you know which direction you will be shooting in. To do this, from the main menu, select 'Options' > 'Crosshair' > 'On'. Then you are required to play the tutorial first since 'New Game' will be inaccessible. Once you complete it you will unlock "Fast Learner".

Now that you can start the game, select 'New Game' > 'Easy'. There is no reason to play on a higher difficulty unless you want to challenge yourself. Luckily all of the 'collect/kill' achievements are cumulative so if you don't get one or some of them in one playthrough, your progress will carry over to additional playthroughs.

The stages are randomly generated, so each time you start a new game, it's likely going to be completely different. There are two types of platforms; ones made of rectangles that you can shoot through and ones made of squares that you can't shoot through. Note that when you stand on a rectangle platform, after a couple of seconds it will briefly disappear, making you fall to a lower platform. Also beware of the giant beams that shoot up from the bottom on some stages as they can damage you.

Just play through the stages and each achievement will unlock naturally. Replay the game as necessary if you are having trouble with later stages. Even with the enemies and bosses constantly shooting at you, the game isn't as difficult as other shoot 'em ups where you are continually bombarded with projectiles with no possible way to avoid them. Each boss follows an attack pattern with little variation so once you learn them they shouldn't be too much of an issue to defeat.

Many Faces is your standard shoot 'em up game. The achievements are not that difficult at all, even for the unskilled. All the achievements are progression related so it's possible to unlock the full 1000 in less than 30 minutes.

[XBA would like to thank bLaKgRaVy for this Roadmap]

Many Faces: Console Edition Achievement Guide

Printable Guide
Show completed achievements
Show secret achievements

There are 14 achievements with a total of 1000 points

  • Complete the tutorial

    From the main menu, select 'Tutorial'. It will introduce you to the basics of the game, like moving (), shooting ( to aim, to shoot), rolling () and jumping ().

    You also get acquainted with the hat which gives you certain abilities when you pick it up at the end of each stage. Refer to "Funky Hat" for more information.

    The tutorial takes about a minute to play and is required before you can start the game.

  • Collect a Hat (excluding tutorial)


    This cannot be earned in the tutorial. At the completion of each stage there is a box dropped into the level. That box contains a random hat, most of which have beneficial abilities. All you need to do to open the box is walk into it. When the hat appears, walk into it to snag the achievement.

    If you press while the hat is visible, the game tells you what ability it has, so if you are currently wearing a hat that is more beneficial to you, make sure you don't change it. Also, if you roll () while wearing a hat, it will be removed.

  • Kill 8 enemies

    Refer to "Creamy Enemy III" for more information.

  • Kill 24 enemies

    Refer to "Creamy Enemy III" for more information.

  • Kill 48 enemies

    This is a cumulative achievement over all your playthroughs. Each stage has 6 enemies so you will need to play through at least 8 stages that have enemies (some boss stages have enemies but not all) to unlock this. If you're surviving to later stages, when you reach Stage 11, this final enemy achievement will unlock.

    If you wish, you can keep replaying the earlier stages (1 through 3) repeatedly if you find it difficult to continue further into the game. This can be done in conjunction with the three boss achievements since you can also just kill the first boss on Stage 4 three times for those achievements. Refer to "Fluffy Boss III" for more information on that.

  • Collect 1 heart


    Refer to "Broken Heart III" for more information.

  • Collect 5 hearts


    Refer to "Broken Heart III" for more information.

  • Collect 10 hearts


    This is a cumulative achievement over all your playthroughs. Hearts are randomly dropped by enemies, so just walk into it to collect it. Each heart collected restores half a heart of health.

    Note: Hearts can only be collected if you need health. They also disappear after about 10 seconds if you don't collect them.

  • Beat stage 1

    Defeat all the enemies in Stage 1 then get teleported to the next stage. When the next stage starts, this will unlock.

  • Beat stage 2

    Defeat all the enemies in Stage 2 then get teleported to the next stage. When the next stage starts, this will unlock.

  • Beat stage 3

    Defeat all the enemies in Stage 3 then get teleported to the next stage. When the next stage starts, which is a boss stage, this will unlock.

  • Kill 1 boss

    Refer to "Fluffy Boss III" for more information.

  • Kill 2 bosses

    Refer to "Fluffy Boss III" for more information.

  • Kill 3 bosses

    A boss appears on every fourth stage. There are six different ones and the one that appears is completely random, so each time you replay the game and make it to a boss stage, it has the potential to be a different boss each time. If you make it to Stage 16, which is the end of the game, you will always encounter the Many Face King boss.

    • Big Brother
    • Blub Blub
    • Flip Flop
    • Holy Ship
    • Peek A Boo
    • Tough Love

    At the top of the screen is the boss's health meter, and all you need to do is shoot it while avoiding its projectiles. Some boss stages also have smaller enemies shooting at you so avoid them as well. If you feel that you will take damage from them, you can quickly roll () out of the way to become temporarily invincible, but by doing so, you will lose any hat you are currently wearing (which can be picked up again for a short time). Some bosses will be easier than others, but watch the pattern of its attacks and they can be quickly defeated.

    Instead of continually playing through the later stages (if you are finding it difficult to survive), you can defeat the boss on Stage 4 then die on Stage 5 and start a new game. You can do this to defeat enemies and collect hearts as well. Luckily, all the pertinent achievements are cumulative so if you need to replay the game from the start, it's not a big deal.

You might also like

Guide navigation


  • bLaKgRaVy

Game navigation