Max Payne 1 + 2, Manhunt, and Dead or Alive Xbox Originals Relisted, Sparking Backwards Compatibility Hopes

Max Payne 1 + 2, Manhunt, and Dead or Alive Xbox Originals Relisted, Sparking Backwards Compatibility Hopes

5
Richard Walker

With Xbox poised to host a 20th anniversary live stream on 15th November, the timing of a bunch of games being relisted to the Microsoft Store have set tongues wagging that the Xbox backwards compatibility program could soon be springing back to life, starting with several original Xbox titles.

These include classic Rockstar action games like Max Payne 1 and 2, Manhunt, and Red Dead Revolver, as well as Team Ninja's first three Dead or Alive games, Munch's Oddysee, Star Wars: Clone Wars, Star Wars Episode III, and theme park sim Thrillville. The listings were spotted on the old Xbox Live Marketplace by lawyer Bruno Costa on Twitter.

All but one one of the games carry a 10th November release date, although you can't actually download them yet. Dead or Alive 3 is the outlier, with a 15th November date attached to it, the same day that Microsoft will be holding its celebratory 20th anniversary online event, from 10am PT/1pm ET/6pm GMT/7pm CEST.

While no new game announcements are planned for the live stream, a confirmation of the Xbox backwards compatibility program being fired up once more would be more than welcome. And, if nothing else, should Max Payne and Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne be in the pipeline, then surely logic dictates that Max Payne 3 will follow. Please?

Comments
5
  • Interesting to note that titles like RE Revelations, Fifa 13, Ride to Hell and Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 are shown above the OG titles despite being listed by 'release date'
  • Thankful but would prefer remasters or remakes with new achievement lists for Max Payne 1 & 2 and Manhunt. Y'all can keep the rest.
  • Thought Episode II being a licenced game probably had it stuck on original hardware. Would be nice to get the likes of Return of the King and Spider-Man 2 back compat but that's all wishful thinking.
  • Wait.. Munch's Oddysee? no way! didnt expect to see that
  • A remastered Max Payne trilogy bundle would be fantastic. Although, something tells me I'd cave in and grab the Backwards Compatible versions in a sale should they eventually become available.
  • You need to register before being able to post comments

Game navigation